How the Heck Do You Fish a Spinnerbait?

Just getting started in Bass Fishing? Hey, everyone started at some point. There are no wrong questions here, only the ones you don't ask. This is the place to ask for help on the basics.
George Cawthorn

Post by George Cawthorn »

Hello to all from most of the time sunny California.

OK, I'm not exactly a beginner at bass fishing but I am a beginner at spinnerbait fishing.

More accurately.... a virgin at spinnerbait fishing. I have tried a few times... mostly been dissapointed and never had a bite on the spinners.

I am willing to keep trying though... any advice you could give on the basics would be greatly appreiated.

Thanks for your advice, I'm mostly fishing very clear water!!

Good fishing to ya, later........ geobass
Socal Bassman

Post by Socal Bassman »

Don't know how much help I could be, considering I've got limited experience with spinnerbaits, but here it goes. For me, the first thing to consider when choosing a spinnerbait is the blade design or type. There are three main types of blades: Willow Leaf, Colorado, and Indiana. Willow leaf blades produce a lot of flash and allow you to fish the bait at faster speeds. Colorado blades produce a lot of vibration. They also have the most drag out of the three, allowing you to fish them slower. An Indiana blade falls between the Willow leaf and Colorado in which it produces an ample amount of flash and vibration.