Tackle, Equipment Gear - Oh My

Just getting started in Bass Fishing? Hey, everyone started at some point. There are no wrong questions here, only the ones you don't ask. This is the place to ask for help on the basics.
wgbassgirl

Post by wgbassgirl »

I thought this might be a good question for the beginning Angler out there, like myself.

As a beginner, I find that all the tackle, gear, equipment, etc., available can be quite overwhelming . Not only are there a ton of different baits, but there are a ton of colors, not to mention the number of reels out there. Of course, each person has his or her favorites, and different techniques, but as a beginner, you have yet to learn what is good for you.

As I am told (Brendan ) trying out products is always a great way to determine what is good, bad or ugly , but I also do not want to spend thousands on products that are just may not be necessary for a beginner, yet, or are just plain bad. I read many of the posts and articles to learn more, and most are very helpful, however, it would be great to have a list of items or products that a beginner should consider purchasing when they are starting out as a bass angler.

So in a nut shell, what would a veteran angler recommend for a beginner angler?

Everyone was a beginner once.
Thanks
Wendy
brendanc

Post by brendanc »

Since you put my name in your post, I guess I should respond... Recommendations from a Vet Angler... run for your life while you still have a chance!!! Once you get hooked, you're hooked for life and it only gets worse with time! (Just teasing)

When I started, I liked fishing with lures that I could see and watch for bass to react to the lure, so topwater/subsurface lures were what I chose to use most of the time. Since then, I have learned that bass will not always want to hit a lure on or near the surface, so I would not recommend simply choosing a favorite bait and only using it all the time.