What are Baitcaster Reels good for?

Just getting started in Bass Fishing? Hey, everyone started at some point. There are no wrong questions here, only the ones you don't ask. This is the place to ask for help on the basics.
**DONOTDELETE**

Post by **DONOTDELETE** »

I am fairly new to bass fishing and I am still learning about all the tackle and equipment out there. I mainly use spinning reels, but I was thinking about investing in a baitcasting reel this summer...so maybe someone can help me out.

What are they good for? Are they better than other types of reels? If I do decide to get one, which would be the best one for me to purchase, since I have zero experience with one.

I have heard they can be very difficult to use and that many people experience a lot of backlash with them (I suppose from inexperience).

Thanks for your help.
brendanc

Post by brendanc »

Hi Spinnerbait1,

Welcome to the site... and great question(s)... I would tell you to first take a read through these two posts that talk about baitcasting reels:

Baitcasting Reel Post A

Baitcasting Reel Post B

Also Check this Video Out:

Brendan C.
Anthony Falzon

Post by Anthony Falzon »

Hi Spinnerbait1,

When I first started getting serious into bass fishing all I had was spinning tackle, Everything Brendan mentioned is right on. I was afraid of baitcasters but through practice and a million nests you get the hang of it. Practice,practice and more practice before you know it you will love baitcasters. Goodluck.
**DONOTDELETE**

Post by **DONOTDELETE** »

Great info. I definitely think I am going to spring for one...and just follow your advice Anthony, practice, practice, practice.

Any suggestions on which brand I should consider starting out with? I do not want to spend too much on my first one, but I definitely want to invest in a decent baitcaster. I know Daiwa has some new ones out, not sure if anyone has used any of them or have any inside information on them Daiwa Baitcasting Reels