bait casting setup

Just getting started in Bass Fishing? Hey, everyone started at some point. There are no wrong questions here, only the ones you don't ask. This is the place to ask for help on the basics.
LIfisherman776

bait casting setup

Post by LIfisherman776 »

hi guys.i'm kinda new at this so please bare with me.
i've been watching some fishing shows on tv and noticed that alot of them are always using low profile bait casters and i was just wondering why that is.
the reason i ask is because i was looking into picking up a bait casting rig.i don't want to spend a million dollars but i will spend the money for a good quality rig.i,m no pro but i don't want to buy junk or the wrong stuff so i figured i'd ask.i currently have a spinner rig and am looking to try different setups for fishing freshwater.i went bass fishing with my brother one day and got hooked.thanks

ps i just relized i should have probly put this in the beginers board. sorry.
MbBass

bait casting setup

Post by MbBass »

Welcome to the board . Sounds like me when a friend talked me into fishing a little over a year ago . Tried it and caught a few big ones and got hooked . Baitcasters in my opinion are great tools . And you can fish anything with them . Go ahead and spend more for the reel . I have found that the better reels hold up better and you can throw wieghtless rigs alot easier .

The baitcasters are alot more accurate when trying to cast to a small target . Like brush piles , a small point , etc . And try and use a 6'6" to a 7' rod . I tried to buy cheap with my first reel and the reel gave out on me . I now fish Abu Garcia Revo sx and the reel has been great . And i can cast it at far as a spin reel .